Terug
ES010340

Palma de Mallorca, Spanje

View from our balcony looking south

View from our balcony looking south

Platina

Deelnemer sinds

2001


Open voor een ruilvakantie

De deelnamer heeft geen vakantie datums genoemd

Two-bedroom apartment in Palma de Mallorca, Spain

Mallorca is a very popular vacation destination, with excellent low-cost flight connections to every major city in Europe. We are looking for all kinds of exchanges, including longer-term ones—this could be a good base for an extended tour of Europe for someone from further afield. We do not need our apartment to be continuously occupied during the exchange.

This is our full-time home, not a "vacation" apartment that is unoccupied or rented out the rest of the time. It has everything that you need for a stay of any length, including beach towels, lots of bedding, and a full set of spices in the kitchen!

Our apartment has nice views over a green wooded area either side of a stream bed that leads down to the yacht harbour of Palma, where the millionaires park their boats. From our balconies you can see the cruise ships moored in the harbour, and across the bay of Palma to the resort of Arenal. We are at the top of a hill and the end of our street, so there is almost no traffic noise.

At the back of our building is the 126-hectare wooded park around the Bellver Castle, one of Palma's most famous attractions. The park entrance is just 10 metres from our building and the castle itself is a short walk away.

We have two main bedrooms, one of which has its own bathroom with shower and toilet and also its own balcony. There is a second bathroom with shower and toilet. In the TV room, the sofa can be converted into a double bed, so in fact we can accommodate more than four people. However, we prefer to keep the advertised number at four; if you use more than two beds then you will be "camping out" a little bit.

There is a large main balcony with a barbecue and an eating table, with the choice of sun or shade all day depending on exactly where you sit. For the hottest days we have an air conditioning unit in the living room, which functions as a heater in the winter. The apartment is quite warm in winter and you only need to use the air conditioner, or our small electric radiator for the TV room, occasionally. For most of the year we turn the air conditioning off and open the windows; we are on the 5th floor, so there is no security problem, and there is usually a light wind to help cool things down.

We have a large "smart" TV with Netflix (please connect your own account) and Amazon Prime. We also have an Amazon Fire Stick, which enables us to receive the main UK channels (BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, etc), and a Google Chromecast device, which you can use to watch most streaming content from your phone on the TV screen. We have fibre-optic Internet access with a nominal speed of 100 Mbits/s.

The building has its own swimming pool, which is cleaned every morning by the full-time maintenance person who also keeps the public areas clean and tidy.

We have checked the box to indicate that our apartment is not suitable for disabled people. By this we mean that we don't have any specific features to cater for disabilities; it ought to be fine for someone who has moderately limited mobility. Families with children from the age of 8 or older are welcome, but our own children are grown up, so we don't have things like toys or children's DVDs, which were a big part of the experience when we went on exchanges with our children 15-20 years ago. We have no pets, and are unable to look after cats or dogs.

We offer the use of our car, but it is fairly modest—a Hyundai Getz 1.1 petrol model from 2008, with no air conditioning. If you want to explore Mallorca in a little more comfort you might want to consider renting a car for at least a few days of your vacation, especially if there are more than two people in your party. The island has good public transport in general and the bus services within Palma are excellent.

You can explore the area around our building on Street View here: https://www.google.com/maps/place/Carrer+del+Polvor%C3%AD,+39,+07015+Palma,+Illes+Balears,+Spain/@39.559665,2.6196595,3a,75y,197.41h,99.91t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1sK20XbByKX2Ceafg0R-yESQ!2e0!3e11!7i13312!8i6656!4m13!1m7!3m6!1s0x1297920adaf6a3d1:0x4aa8a7680e15b24!2sCarrer+del+Polvor%C3%AD,+Palma,+Illes+Balears,+Spain!3b1!8m2!3d39.5591925!4d2.6202884!3m4!1s0x0:0x349465034bb81007!8m2!3d39.5596781!4d2.6195888

Lees verder

Ons gezin

  • 2 Volwassenen
  • 0 Kinderen
  • 23 Uitgevoerde Vakantieafspraken

Beroep

  • Retired IT manager, now an amateur academic
  • Retired administrative assistant

Ons huis

  • Soort Huis: Flat
  • Situering in de omgeving: In de stad
  • Slaapkamers: 2
  • Badkamers: 2
  • Aantal beschikbare slaapplaatsen: 4
  • Living Area: 25 m2
  • Total Area: 90 m2

Referenties

In mijn huis

  • Huisdieren - Niet Toegestaan
  • Kleine kinderen - Niet Toegestaan

Type van Afspraken

  • Woningruil

Indoor

  • Gratis internet aansluiting
  • Air conditioning
  • Wasmachine
  • Vaatwasser
  • Televisie
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Balkon
  • Park en Speelmogelijkheden
  • BBQ
  • Privé-Zwembad

Mogelijkheden

  • Niet Roken
  • Lift
  • Wenst autoruil
  • Goede privacy

Landenlijst met onze mogelijke bestemmingen

  • Open voor alle aanbiedingen
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Japan
  • Finland

Door ons gesproken talen

  • Engels
  • Frans
  • Duits
  • Nederlands

Onze buurt

Dichtstbijzijnde vliegveld: Palma de Mallorca - 12km, about 22 Euros in a taxi

  • mountains The North is mountainous (17.1 km)
  • sea The sea is everywhere! (8.0 km)
  • boating You can rent boats easily (2.7 km)
  • forest Parque de Bellver (0.3 km)
  • shopping Porto Pí (mall, hypermarket) (0.9 km)

We live in a very quiet residential neighbourhood called "El Terreno", which has a lot of interesting architecture. This was the first area of Palma where people came on vacation when tourism started in the 20th century. It is one of the few parts of Palma where you can see the sea without having to be in a first-line building on the main road around the harbour.

Within a 5-7 minute walk from our building you will find local shops, cafés, and restaurants, and the bus stop for trips into the centre of Palma. A little further away is the Porto Pí shopping centre, which has many international stores and a large Carrefour hypermarket.

Beroep

  • Retired IT manager, now an amateur academic
  • Retired administrative assistant

Kinderen

  • Wij hebben geen kleine kinderen

Huisdieren

  • Er zijn geen huisdieren vermeld

Presentatie tekst voor het gezin

We have two children, born in 1989 and 1991, who will not usually be travelling with us.

Lifestyle

We enjoy walking (cities, beaches, mountains) and exploring new places of every kind, in the car but also by bus and train. We like to eat in all classes of restaurant, from local cafeterias to fine dining.

We are not vegetarians or vegans. We consume alcohol in moderation but we do not smoke or take any other stimulants. You are welcome to smoke on our balconies (with the doors closed), but not inside the apartment.

Referenties

This member has completed 23 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: