Halstead, Groot-Brittannië

Our House

Our House

Victorian Walled garden

Victorian Walled garden

Our House Victorian Walled garden

Deelnemer sinds


Niet open voor een ruilvakantie

De deelnamer heeft geen vakantie datums genoemd

Traditional Cottage in North Essex, England.

We experienced our first exchange in October 2013, and got the bug! That exchange was with our second home in Wales, which is now let long term as we are in the process of renovating (yet) another property as our final destination. So rather than quit exchanging, I have decided that we will attempt to tidy our small space in the hope that someone would like to swap with the more rural part of Essex.

We live in a very picturesque village in North Essex, close to Constable country and on the border of Suffolk. Our village has a beautiful church and a castle, along with a lovely restaurant, tea-room and a pub. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we are close enough to London to go in for the day. (Jo commuted daily for many years) and within 45 minutes of the beautiful city of Cambridge.

Our house is a red brick Victorian cottage, originally two, two-up-two-downs, that we knocked into one, once we were married and had a child. The house is centrally heated, with a wood burner, open fire and an Aga in the kitchen.  It is small, but very cosy. We have two bathrooms, the downstairs shower room is great for returning from muddy dog walks and a lovely cast-iron bath upstairs to soak away the day. We have 3 bedrooms, two with double beds and the third currently has a bunk for our son. We also have a small study upstairs.

There is a lovely Victorian walled garden behind our house, which we redesigned and planted ourselves once the house became one. It has received many visitors, being open every other year for the Church Open Gardens event. There is ample seating in the Summer it is used as our second dining room. There are plenty of local footpaths in this village and surrounding areas.

Local info:
http://www.thecricketers.co.uk (pub belonging to Jamie Olivers parents)

Lees verder

Ons gezin

  • 2 Volwassenen
  • 3 Kinderen
  • 1 Uitgevoerde Vakantieafspraken


  • IT Trainer/ Mum
  • Sales Manager (Engineering)

Ons huis

  • Soort Huis: Huis
  • Verdieping: 2
  • Situering in de omgeving: Op het platteland
  • Slaapkamers: 3
  • Badkamers: 2
  • Aantal beschikbare slaapplaatsen: 5


In mijn huis

  • Huisdieren - Toegestaan
  • Kleine kinderen - Toegestaan

Type van Afspraken

  • Ruil gevraagd voor lange periode
  • Woningruil


  • Gratis internet aansluiting
  • Open haard
  • Wasmachine
  • Vaatwasser
  • Wasdroger
  • Televisie


  • Tuin
  • Park en Speelmogelijkheden


  • Niet Roken
  • Auto noodzakelijk
  • Verzorging Huisdieren Gewenst

Landenlijst met onze mogelijke bestemmingen

  • Open voor alle aanbiedingen
  • France
  • Maine, USA
  • Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
  • California, USA
  • United Kingdom

Door ons gesproken talen

  • Engels


  • IT Trainer/ Mum
  • Sales Manager (Engineering)


  • Jongen - Leeftijd: 15
  • Jongen - Leeftijd: 31
  • Meisje - Leeftijd: 28


  • Labrador
  • Cat


This member has completed 1 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: