Member Login

McLean, USA

Front of House

Front of House

Car in front of house is included

Car in front of house is included

Living room overlooks backyard

Living room overlooks backyard

Living room

Living room

Living room window overlooks backyard.

Living room window overlooks backyard.

Australia 2013

Australia 2013

Front of House Car in front of house is included Living room overlooks backyard Living room Living room window overlooks backyard. Australia 2013
Open for exchange

Member since

Exchange dates Duration
March 01, 2018 - April 15, 2018

Because I am retired, I can exchange anytime. Spring and fall are preferred for Europe, but I am open to anything. If I go outside North America, I try to do more than one exchange so I can stay longer. I prefer 4 week exchanges outside North America if possible (e.g., one in July and one in August). For June-October 2018 I will be in Australia and New Zealand so the home exchange olympics are largely over for 2018. I would be interested in something in Cairns or Port Douglas in Queensland, Australia, in August 2018. 2 weeks is possible in North America March through mid April in North America.

2 weeks
August 01, 2018 - August 31, 2018

Australia or New Zealand only.

4 weeks

Townhouse in Close in Washington, DC, suburb! 69 Exchanges since 1990!

Give me an offer I can't refuse! I have been home exchanging since 1990.

I am currently putting a complicated itinerary together in Australia and NZ for 2018. I am booked there for mid June-end of July in Perth. I am looking for an exchange in either Cairns or Port Douglas for the first 2 weeks of June. Other destinations will not be considered for August. September through beginning of November will be in New Zealand and is fixed.

I am looking for something shorter in March or April anywhere.

I want an offers from serious people who are willing to commit to definite dates. I generally want a principal residence--and not a vacation home. Unless you are in a large city with good public transportation, I need a car exchange as well. Please note that I may occasionally consider vacation homes, but they must have internet and have a car included as part of the exchange.

Please note that my townhouse is suitable only for adults. No more small children. I firmly believe that those of you with small children would be much happier exchanging with someone at your stage of life--not with a retired person. I simply do not have all the toys, etc., to keep children amused.

Pet owners: I do not have pets and will not care for animals on home exchanges. Pets are also NOT welcome in my home.

I own 3 bedroom townhouse in a close in DC suburb. Metro (subway) access is a short drive away and there is paid parking. Fiber optic cable internet and computer use offered in the house. TV is also connected to cable. My car, a 2008 Toyota Prius, is included; it has very low mileage. The GPS (which I provide) has directions to the Metro stop under "favorites". It will also prevent you from getting lost finding the house after you take day trips.

I have done 68 exchanges/hospitality stays. That means I have had a lot of interesting travel experiences. While I rule out nothing, I would love eventual exchanges in South America, Asia and Africa (especially Capetown). In Western Europe I have not home exchanged or visited Ireland, Portugal or Greece. I have still not been to the Alhambra in Spain. I am, however, willing to go anywhere including places I would be revisiting. France, Italy, Britain, anywhere in Western Europe or North America is always good. I would also, believe it or not, love to swap for 1-2 weeks in New York City, Philadelphia and other Northeastern/MidAtlantic cities. You do not have to go abroad to have a nice break. I have been down under 3 times on multi home exchange trips but would not mind going again if I were to get a location I have not visited as a "hook" for a multi home exchange trip. Examples would be Cairns, Broome, Perth or Adelaide.

I do have a website/blog at with stories of my home exchange adventures. My most recent exchange was in California.

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 68 Exchanges made


  • Retired attorney

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Park / playground


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • USA
  • South Africa
  • United Kingdom
  • Cairns QLD 4870, Australia
  • Asia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Dulles - 20 miles

  • shopping Grocery and Other Shops (0.9 km)
  • river Potomac River (7.4 km)
  • boating Canoe Rental available (16.8 km)
  • mountains Shenandoah National Park (118.1 km)
  • beach Rehoboth, Delaware, beach (218.2 km)
  • sea Ocean City, MD, beach (259.8 km)

McLean, Virginia, is a quiet upscale suburb of Washington, DC; in 20 minutes by car you are at the monuments, Capitol building or Smithsonian Museums!

Many restaurants and two supermarkets are within walking distance.

Access to Washington's subway system is at McLean station on the Silver Line. Parking is $4.75. If you don't mind walking, you can park for free nearby.

My street, Pine Hill Road, is a dead end street with almost no traffic.  There is a children's playground in the development and 2 larger ones 5 minutes from the house.


  • Retired attorney


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

No pets at my place and I do not want responsibility for your pets when I exchange.
No small children please. I am retired and at my stage of life I simply do not have a house which would fit small children well. No more than 4 people in each exchange group--and I would prefer couples.


I am a retired lawyer. I also did a little tour work with groups when I first retired but only do it occasionally now. The work was mostly concentrated in the US/Canadian Northeast. I have a lot of guidebooks in the house that you can consult. I love theater, music and the out of doors. I also am a voracious reader. I have exchanged 68 times since 1990.

I am on facebook as Lauren S. Kahn. 

You can also have a look at my personal website if you want more information about me:

Join us or Start free trial